Earth From Above Challenge

I’m sorry I haven’t posted for a while, I’ve been busy working on a project for a friend and it’s darn hard to get the motivation up to post when I’m looking for a job. But I was offered a job at Target today and suddenly I’m feeling motivated again! And I finished my project for my friend (good thing too, her wedding is tomorrow), which I’ll make a separate post about.

I finally got some information about the challenge from Aunt Annie’s(I also found their website), which they’re calling the Earth From Above Challenge (see my last post for a more in depth description). So here are pictures of the two pages that I chose as my inspiration for the challenge.

Cathedral

Chocolate Hills, Philippines

And here’s a better picture of my interpretation of the Chocolate Hills picture, I’m planning to do a bunch of stitching between the chocolates using the thread that is next to it in the picture. I stretched the thread across the piece to give a bit of an idea of how they’ll look together but it’s kinda hard to see in the picture.

I haven’t started on the Cathedral picture yet. I’m thinking though that I will do a 3D vertical piece that’s kind of shaped like the cathedral, but the most important part for me is going to be that texture. I think I’ll finish this piece first, before I start the next one though. I’ll post pictures when this one is finished and the next one is started. They need to be finished and to Aunt Annie’s by February 15th so more updates should be forthcoming before then!

3 responses to this post.

  1. You might consider using a variegated green thread for your stitching.

    Reply

  2. […] As a summary, I made this piece based off of the picture below for a challenge. You can get the full details in my post Earth from Above Challenge. […]

    Reply

  3. […] Earth from Above is the title of multiple books by photographer Yann Arthus-Bertrand which are collections of photographs he has taken from, well, above. I’m not sure if they’re taken from a plane or a helicopter, possibly both, but he was definitely flying when he took the pictures! The pictures are amazingly beautiful, but this post is about a show of fiber pieces inspired by the photos in Earth from Above. And in looking for another post I want to link to in the next paragraph I discovered I have already described the challenge quite a bit here. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

Glitchy Artist

Screenshots of the Universe

depression comix

a comic struggling to understand mental illness

The Geeky Hooker

Not THAT kind of hooker. The kind armed with a crochet hook.

carriescarr.com

technology explorer

MindMedicine Blog

Professional Golfer & Mind Coach in Life & Professional Sport...

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

allmostrelevant

Want to see what an Instagram with no pictures looks like? @allmostrelevant

Kitchen Overlord

Your home for geeky recipes, edible art, and nerdy kitchen gadget reviews.

All Night Knits

Sleep All Day. Knit All Night.

The Blog of Knitted Fog

art, life and stuff

knitnrun4sanity

Running, knitting, crocheting and blogging along.

Keep Me In Stitchez: The Blog

Following my passion, one stitch at a time

Knitting, reading, photography, and maybe more

Explorations, procrastinations, imaginations...

