Liz’s Wedding Present

I finally feel like I can post about this project that I’ve been working on for months! My friend Liz is getting married tomorrow and I’ve been working on this project for a while but didn’t want to post anything about it until I finished and it was closer to the wedding. I don’t think she reads my blog so I can post pictures and stuff here without worrying about ruining the surprise! So first things first, pictures of the finished project.

corner detail

K detail

detail of the loopyribbon bit

full piece

The piece is intended as a table accent thingy. I’m picturing it in my head as a sort of extra detail in the center of the table, probably turned so that it’s diagonal, rather than square like it is in the picture, but really she can use it however she wants and wherever it works. K is the first letter of her new last name, so I thought she’d appreciate the monogram. I had originally thought about doing something in all four corners but decided both for aesthetics and for time that it works best as is.

The stitching is padded satin stitch, that is, satin stitch done over an outline of backstitch. I drew the design myself. The K I took quite a while to draw on paper and get just right before transferring it but the swoopy bits I drew free-hand on the fabric using a chalk pencil. I’m rather pleased at how it turned out. I will try to get a picture of her with the piece and possibly of the piece once she puts it to use somewhere and I’ll add those pictures to this post when/if I get them!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Beautiful work, Anna!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Caithryn on October 10, 2012 at 12:09 pm

    I’m coming to visit you for crafty lessons. I want to learn how to do this, and how to knit properly…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

Glitchy Artist

Screenshots of the Universe

depression comix

a comic struggling to understand mental illness

The Geeky Hooker

Not THAT kind of hooker. The kind armed with a crochet hook.

carriescarr.com

technology explorer

MindMedicine Blog

Professional Golfer & Mind Coach in Life & Professional Sport...

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

allmostrelevant

Want to see what an Instagram with no pictures looks like? @allmostrelevant

Kitchen Overlord

Your home for geeky recipes, edible art, and nerdy kitchen gadget reviews.

All Night Knits

Sleep All Day. Knit All Night.

The Blog of Knitted Fog

art, life and stuff

knitnrun4sanity

Running, knitting, crocheting and blogging along.

Keep Me In Stitchez: The Blog

Following my passion, one stitch at a time

Knitting, reading, photography, and maybe more

Explorations, procrastinations, imaginations...

WOMBAT QUILTS

An Aussie's adventures in quilting

