Chocolate Hills

This project has been finished a while and I’ve been neglecting telling you about it. It’s not that there’s anything wrong with it, I’m just bad at remembering to take pictures of things when I finish them so I had to round up some good pictures.

As a summary, I made this piece based off of the picture below for a challenge. You can get the full details in my post Earth from Above Challenge.

When I last posted about it I had attached the felted chocolates to the base felt and was trying to decide what to do for the stitching. I took the suggestion from the comment on the last post and used variegated thread, but also used a solid green thread. I quite like how mixing the two turned out, although looking at it you can’t necessarily tell it’s two different threads. Because of being bad about taking pictures of my finished pieces, as I said before, I don’t really have a good close up of the stitching but I do have a couple pictures of the piece finished and of the process as well. So here are those.

The chocolates are attached to the background, but looking a bit out of place and lonely.

So I added some “grass/bushes” around the “hills”, and they look much happier.

To finish the piece off I glued it to a stiff backing and then used real Hershey bar wrappers for the binding. It was real tough eating the chocolate to get the wrappers, but everyone knows you sometimes have to sacrifice for art ;-). You can see the texture from the background stitching a bit in this picture too.

And a little close up from the side of the finished piece. You can see the stitching best in this picture. The stitches are in lines that swirl around and overlap. I tried to kind of contour them around the hills so they look like they interact with the hills rather than just being background.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I just discovered that the link to the original post sent you to the wrong thing, so I fixed it!

    Reply

  2. […] librarian and book lover in me cringed at ripping up books!). This is the challenge I created my Chocolate Hills piece […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

Glitchy Artist

Screenshots of the Universe

depression comix

a comic struggling to understand mental illness

The Geeky Hooker

Not THAT kind of hooker. The kind armed with a crochet hook.

carriescarr.com

technology explorer

MindMedicine Blog

Professional Golfer & Mind Coach in Life & Professional Sport...

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

allmostrelevant

Want to see what an Instagram with no pictures looks like? @allmostrelevant

Kitchen Overlord

Your home for geeky recipes, edible art, and nerdy kitchen gadget reviews.

All Night Knits

Sleep All Day. Knit All Night.

The Blog of Knitted Fog

art, life and stuff

knitnrun4sanity

Running, knitting, crocheting and blogging along.

Keep Me In Stitchez: The Blog

Following my passion, one stitch at a time

Knitting, reading, photography, and maybe more

Explorations, procrastinations, imaginations...

WOMBAT QUILTS

An Aussie's adventures in quilting

