Celtic knotwork collar

I am a member of a Medieval recreation group called the SCA. One of the things we do is to dress up in Medieval clothing, which we often make ourselves. Being a fiber person I definitely make my clothing myself, and I’m working on decorating all of my clothing with embroidery. Mostly I’m doing simple stitches around the neck and wrists to add some detail, but I’ve also been working on a fancy collar for one of my gowns. I found the basic knotwork design in a book and spent quite a while making it rounded, rather than straight, so that it is the right shape. And now, pictures!

Image

This is the pattern I ended up with after quite a bit of cutting and taping, and then tracing onto a separate sheet of paper. I colored it in after I transferred it to the fabric so I could use it as a guide for filling in the actual piece.

Image

There are two of these medallions, one to center in the front and one to center in the back. The collar itself is a separate piece so that I can put it on any gown that I would like, and that way I can still use it even if the gown it’s on wears out or doesn’t fit anymore. I got kind of bored just doing the black outlines so I started filling the color in before I finished the outline.

Image

I’ve started working on the outline of the piece again because the original transfer of the pattern left a few very light spots. You can see one of those spots in the top right corner where I’ve filled in the pattern with pencil, but that’s quite difficult to do. So I want to finish the outline before all of the pattern wears off or I manage to lose the original pattern piece or anything like that. Of course it’s a lot harder to work on the part where the pattern didn’t transfer so I do a lot less work on it than I did before, but it’s slowly getting done.

WordPress seems to have changed the format of the tool for making new posts and I’m not really liking it. My next few posts may look a bit funny while I get used to the new interface and figure out how best to work with it, so please bear with me. Hopefully you won’t notice any difference, but I make no promises. EDIT: It looks like I may have just been creating the new post in a different place, obviously I’m still learning to use wordpress in general, some day I will figure it out.

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

Glitchy Artist

Screenshots of the Universe

depression comix

a comic struggling to understand mental illness

The Geeky Hooker

Not THAT kind of hooker. The kind armed with a crochet hook.

carriescarr.com

technology explorer

MindMedicine Blog

Professional Golfer & Mind Coach in Life & Professional Sport...

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

allmostrelevant

Want to see what an Instagram with no pictures looks like? @allmostrelevant

Kitchen Overlord

Your home for geeky recipes, edible art, and nerdy kitchen gadget reviews.

All Night Knits

Sleep All Day. Knit All Night.

The Blog of Knitted Fog

art, life and stuff

knitnrun4sanity

Running, knitting, crocheting and blogging along.

Keep Me In Stitchez: The Blog

Following my passion, one stitch at a time

Knitting, reading, photography, and maybe more

Explorations, procrastinations, imaginations...

WOMBAT QUILTS

An Aussie's adventures in quilting

