Inspiration

I had an interesting train of thought about inspiration recently. I had just been to the thrift store looking for a particular type of picture frame to make a holder for earrings. I didn’t find the frame I wanted but I got a whole bunch of picture frames that I am going to use for needle felted pictures. I haven’t posted about my needle felted pictures yet but I will soon. Anyway, lots of these frames were quite small and when I saw them I was just hit with the inspiration to do small detailed studies of things like flowers, in these frames. It was one of those things that seemed like such an obvious idea once it occurred to me.

That got me thinking about where I get inspiration from and, of course, how to get more. I get lots of inspiration from strange dreams, not usually the whole dream but just an image or two from the dream that tends to stick with me. I also get lots of ideas from images that just sort of form in my head when I’m only mostly asleep. I think that’s what I miss most about when I used to sleep 12 or more hours a night on weekends in school. When I would sleep that much I would usually actually be sleeping more like 10 hours and spending a couple hours in the morning drifting in and out before I got up. Those times were when I got some of my best ideas.

Other artists’ work, of course, can be quite inspirational, but I tend to be hesitant about that, because I want to be inspired to do something unique, not copy someone else’s work, no matter how beautiful their work is. And then I found myself thinking that I wish I made more long drives, because I always seem to get inspiration after driving for a half hour or more. Of course, I don’t have the money to spend on gas to take long drives every day or even once a week or month. Then I realized that it’s not so much the driving, although the constantly changing scenery from a drive helps a bit, it’s the fact that I am forced to sit there for a long stretch of time with no busy work to do. It gives me a chance to quiet my body and the constant litany of thoughts about things I need to do, and just listen to my mind. And then I realized that that process sounds familiar. It sounds a whole lot like meditation. Just another reason I should meditate more.

If I’m working on a project and start to feel my inspiration slipping, or get stuck at a point, I like to take a break or go back to what originally inspired me. If that doesn’t work I find that talking to my mom is wonderfully helpful! It’s amazing how sometimes describing a project, and trying to answer questions about it, my mom always has good questions, really makes you think differently about it. Sometimes it seems like half my ideas on works in progress come to me smack dab in the middle of a conversation with my mom. Not that I ever tell her that, usually I just tell her the idea like I’ve had it all along, don’t want her to get a big head ;-D.

So what inspires you? Do you like to take long walks in park, read a book, watch a movie, clean the house, or take a nap? Do you have someone you always talk to about your projects? Or someone you go to when you’re stuck?

 

And just because I can’t seem to make a post without a picture, and it’s so pretty, here’s a picture of the awesome hand-made journal my parents brought me from Italy!

Isn’t it just so pretty?!?!?!?! *squee*

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

Glitchy Artist

Screenshots of the Universe

depression comix

a comic struggling to understand mental illness

The Geeky Hooker

Not THAT kind of hooker. The kind armed with a crochet hook.

carriescarr.com

technology explorer

MindMedicine Blog

Professional Golfer & Mind Coach in Life & Professional Sport...

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

allmostrelevant

Want to see what an Instagram with no pictures looks like? @allmostrelevant

Kitchen Overlord

Your home for geeky recipes, edible art, and nerdy kitchen gadget reviews.

All Night Knits

Sleep All Day. Knit All Night.

The Blog of Knitted Fog

art, life and stuff

knitnrun4sanity

Running, knitting, crocheting and blogging along.

Keep Me In Stitchez: The Blog

Following my passion, one stitch at a time

Knitting, reading, photography, and maybe more

Explorations, procrastinations, imaginations...

