Thanksgiving decorations

Today’s post is about a project that failed miserably. Gotta just love it when that happens. Thanksgiving in the US is coming up at the end of November and I decided to try making a cornucopia decoration. I’m kinda lazy when it comes to crafting so I decided to try and modify a technique for wet-felting a large carrot that I’ve been told about. Basically you put a bunch of wool in a nylon, tie string around it in strategic places to get the right shape and create the lines you get on a carrot, and stick it in the washing machine. I figured I could do the same but put something in the big end to make a little divot and then add some detail with needle felting to make it look more like a cornucopia. Here’s that process in pictures.

My materials. The yarn is stuff that doesn’t felt, I figured that would be important for taking things apart later.

I tied off one end of the shape so I would have a small, pointy end. Then I started stuffing from there. It was a lot more difficult to stuff than I expected, I guess I don’t have much experience with nylons so it didn’t occur to me how slippery and clingy they can be. Yes, both slippery and clingy at the same time, gotta love contradictions.

I decided this was a good size and amount of wool. That decision was pretty much arbitrary, but I did remember that it will shrink some when felted, so it’s good to make it a bit larger than you want it to end up as.

I decided the best way to make the opening in the wide end was by putting a bowl in it and letting things felt around that. I went with a plastic bowl, even though I had some ceramic ones I liked the shape and size of better, because I didn’t want the bowl breaking in the washer. Then I distributed the wool around the bowl and tied the nylon tight around it to keep things in place.

I tied a few strings along the length of the cornucopia hoping to keep things in place better and to add a bit of dimension to the finished piece that I could work with later to give it a woven look.

Then I tossed the piece into the washer, which is when things  went wrong. I think putting the bowl in there was the main problem, although the washer also may have been too rough for the nylon. Basically I think the bowl rubbed through the nylon around it and the whole thing fell apart. It might have worked if I had to whole bowl covered, and didn’t leave the edge of the bowl right against the nylon where it could rub. But I didn’t think of that at the beginning.

This is what I got out of the washer. It was very disappointing, and I dont think Ill be trying this particular technique again very soon.

I was just going to throw the whole mess away but I realized that the wool had felted into some interesting little shapes that are quite nicely felted, so I’ve decided to keep those. I have no idea what Ill do with them, but I may as well save them, they might inspire me later. If not I can always use them as pincushions or something. Or just throw them away later too.

I haven’t given up on making a cornucopia though! I’ve decided I’m going to try knitting and felting one. It should be pretty simple to knit, the first hat I ever tried to make was very triangular, so I know I can make the shape! And I have patterns for lots of different fruits and vegetables to knit, including a banana that has a zipper in the peel so you can actually peel it! Bananas aren’t exactly your traditional cornucopia food, but I like them and it’s cool, so it’s going in. I might try this wet felting technique again later when I have more patience and time for it, and once I’m not quite to peeved at the way it fell apart, but probably not this year.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

Glitchy Artist

Screenshots of the Universe

depression comix

a comic struggling to understand mental illness

The Geeky Hooker

Not THAT kind of hooker. The kind armed with a crochet hook.

carriescarr.com

technology explorer

MindMedicine Blog

Professional Golfer & Mind Coach in Life & Professional Sport...

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

allmostrelevant

Want to see what an Instagram with no pictures looks like? @allmostrelevant

Kitchen Overlord

Your home for geeky recipes, edible art, and nerdy kitchen gadget reviews.

All Night Knits

Sleep All Day. Knit All Night.

The Blog of Knitted Fog

art, life and stuff

knitnrun4sanity

Running, knitting, crocheting and blogging along.

Keep Me In Stitchez: The Blog

Following my passion, one stitch at a time

Knitting, reading, photography, and maybe more

Explorations, procrastinations, imaginations...

