Crocheted Chess Set

My life has been quite busy lately so I haven’t had much time for projects. And now I’m applying for grad schools, so I expect life will continue to be busy, but I will try to update as I can. And because I don’t have any new projects finished today’s post is about an older one.

In college I took a class called Fiber Design Studio. Among many other projects we had to do a crochet project after we learned to crochet in the class. I went online and found a pattern for a checkers set that was both the board and the pieces and I made that (I would link to the pattern but I lost track of that long ago, sorry). Later for the same class we had to design our own pattern so I decided I would make up chess pieces for the checker board, cause I like to be ambitious and it didn’t occur to me that maybe that was a bit much for my second ever crochet project. But they turned out quite well.

IMG_2349

That’s the finished set at the Fiber Arts Festival a couple years ago, I put it in the exhibit. If you can read the sign in front of it there, the materials are actually listed wrong, the yarn is acrylic not wool so there is no wool in it. My mom made the sign and didn’t know that, she just assumed it was wool. You can see a bit in the picture that all the classic pieces are there in as close to classic shapes as I could get them. The knight was the most difficult because I was very definitive about wanting it to be shaped like a horse head, but I did it! The rook is also castle shaped with a flared out bit at the top and a flat top, couldn’t get any crenelations on it though. The king and queen are a little hard to tell apart, especially in this picture, but I gave the king a full crown with treble crochets and the queen has more of a tiara made out of a shell stitch at the front. I’ve thought about sewing beads on to highlight the crowns more but never got around to it. I also wrote down the patterns as I went (which is good cause I had to make multiples of each piece) and have typed out those patterns.I’ll post a copy of the patterns here and you are welcome to use them as long as you don’t claim them as your own.

The patterns are not very carefully written and will require some knowledge of crochet and how the structure of crochet works in order to use them. I may in the future go back and edit the patterns to be a bit more user friendly but since I don’t plan to sell the patterns and I can understand them just fine myself, I don’t really feel the need to do that. All of the patterns work from the bottom up and end up with an open bottom on the piece. I have experimented with different ways of closing the bottom including just improvising the stitches until the whole bottom is covered and using the same piece that is on the top of the rook and attaching it to the bottom of the pieces. None of them have been really satisfactory so I would say if you make them at all you should experiment yourself and see what you come up with. If you figure out a better way to close the bottoms of the pieces I would love to hear about it!

Bishop

Ch 12, join

Ch 1, Sc 4 rounds

Decrease every 3rd stitch for 1 round

Sc 1 round

Decrease every 3rd stitch for 1 round

Sc 1 round

Increase every 3rd stitch for 2 rounds

Sc 1 round

Decrease every 3rd for 1 round

Sc 1 round

Decrease every 3rd for 1 round

Decrease every other for 1 round

Increase every stitch for 1 round

Sc 1 round

Decrease every stitch until too few to continue

King

Ch 14, join

Sc 5 rounds

Decrease every 4th stitch for 1 round

Sc 2 rounds

Decrease every 4th stitch for 1 round

Sc 1 round

Decrease every 3rd stitch for 1 round

Sc 2 rounds

Inc every 3rd stitch for 1 round

Decrease every 3rd stitch for 1 round

Decrease every stitch until top is closed

Crown: Dc ring around top of head

Queen

Ch 14, join

Sc 4 rounds

Decrease every 4th stitch for 1 round

Sc 1 round

Decrease every 4th stitch for 1 round

Sc 1 round

Decrease every 3rd stitch for 1 round

Sc 2 rounds

Inc every 3rd stitch for 1 round

Decrease every 3rd stitch for 1 round

Decrease every stitch until top is closed

Crown: Make a shell towards top of the head

Pawn

Ch 10, join

Sc 3 rounds

Decrease every 3rd stitch for 1 round

Sc 1 round

Decrease every 4th stitch for 1 round

Increase every 3rd stitch for 2 rounds

Sc 1 round

Decrease every 3rd stitch until top is closed

Knight

Ch 12, join

Sc 4 rounds

Decrease every 3rd stitch for 1 round

Sc 2 rounds

Decrease every 3rd stitch for 1 round

Sc 2 rounds

Decrease every 3rd stitch for 1 round

Ch 1 and turn, Sc 2, increase 1 each in next 2 stitches, Sc 2

Turn, Sl. St., Ch 1, Sc 6

Ch 1 and turn Sc 6

Turn Sl. St., Ch 1, Sc 2, increase 1, Sc 2

Turn, Sl. St. 2, Sc 3

Ch 1 and turn, Sc 3

Ch 1 and turn, Sc 3, Sl. St. to 3rd stitch from end

Ch 1 and turn, Sc 12 around front opening

Sc 1 round

Decrease every 3rd stitch for 1 round

Sc 1 round

Decrease every other stitch for all rounds until end is closed.

Hdc 10 down center of head and back, starting towards back of head

Rook

Ch 12, join

Sc 6 rounds

Decrease every 3rd stitch for 1 round

Sc 4 rounds

Decrease every other stitch for 1 round

Ch 1, Sc one flat round (increase as many stitches as needed)

Ch 2

1 round Dc and Hdc, alternating

New piece: Ch 4, working into 4th chain, Dc 12, Sl. St. to chain

Sl. St. new piece to top of rook

Abbreviations

Sl. St.= slip stitch

Ch = chain

Sc= single crochet

Dc= double crochet

Hdc=half double crochet

One response to this post.

  1. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later. Many thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

Glitchy Artist

Screenshots of the Universe

depression comix

a comic struggling to understand mental illness

The Geeky Hooker

Not THAT kind of hooker. The kind armed with a crochet hook.

carriescarr.com

technology explorer

MindMedicine Blog

Professional Golfer & Mind Coach in Life & Professional Sport...

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

allmostrelevant

Want to see what an Instagram with no pictures looks like? @allmostrelevant

Kitchen Overlord

Your home for geeky recipes, edible art, and nerdy kitchen gadget reviews.

All Night Knits

Sleep All Day. Knit All Night.

The Blog of Knitted Fog

art, life and stuff

knitnrun4sanity

Running, knitting, crocheting and blogging along.

Keep Me In Stitchez: The Blog

Following my passion, one stitch at a time

Knitting, reading, photography, and maybe more

Explorations, procrastinations, imaginations...

WOMBAT QUILTS

An Aussie's adventures in quilting

