continued progress

The first four pages are done! Here are pages one and two, which weren’t done at the last post.

The fifth and sixth pages are going to take the longest because I’m doing them in sating stitch by hand. I have started the fifth page, and they’ll be nice and portable, but it’s slow going. Here’s what I have done so far on that one.

IMG_3131

I machine stitched the outlines of the letters cause I need a concrete border like that when I do sating stitch or it gets all wonky. In the past I’ve just backstitched the border by hand but I figured machine stitching would be faster. It was really hard to do the curves by machine and I can’t decide if it actually made the embroidery harder or not, but I may not continue with the machine stitching.

I skipped over the seventh and eight pages, because I’m going to do those with fabric paint and I didn’t have one big chunk of time today, so I will probably work on those tomorrow. Instead I did the ninth and tenth pages, which are machine embroidery. It’s too bad I’m not a real big fan of the look of machine embroidered letters, because it went wonderfully fast once I got the settings down. I had some issues at first because of a setting on the machine to make the letters “using twice as many stitches”, which basically stretches them out a bit. I decided to use that setting, because it makes the letters a bit bigger, but I didn’t realize it would clear that setting when I cleared the programmed letters so that I could program in the next word. So the second word looked different from the first word, and I couldn’t figure out why, because all the stitch length and width settings were the same. At the same time my bobbin thread was messed up because the bobbin was wound funny, which will teach me not to use a bobbin that I didn’t wind myself,  so the tension was really tight, and I didn’t know why cause, I didn’t see anything wrong. Then  finally the bobbin just bound up and I figured it out. So I ended up ripping out the second word several times, and for a different reason each time, but once I got things all sorted out, it worked like a breeze.

I also discovered that the bobbin thread actually affects the look of the letters. Specifically, if you switch from a black bobbin thread to a light blue one, the stitching ends up looking like it was done with a completely different top thread. Of course I was also perplexed over this one when I first noticed it, but I kept working on the rest of the page and my brain worked it out for itself. Of course I then had to rip the first word out and re-stitch it so that it matched the rest because otherwise it was going to drive me crazy!

That’s where I’m at now. I have three sets of pages that I haven’t even started, but should hopefully go pretty quickly, and the satin stitch pages to finish, which will take a while. And then there’s the illustrations of course, but those aren’t as extensive or as difficult as the letters, which have caused me to decide that our writing system has too many curves in it and we need more straight lines. Just square letters, no curves!

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

Glitchy Artist

Screenshots of the Universe

depression comix

a comic struggling to understand mental illness

The Geeky Hooker

Not THAT kind of hooker. The kind armed with a crochet hook.

carriescarr.com

technology explorer

MindMedicine Blog

Professional Golfer & Mind Coach in Life & Professional Sport...

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

allmostrelevant

Want to see what an Instagram with no pictures looks like? @allmostrelevant

Kitchen Overlord

Your home for geeky recipes, edible art, and nerdy kitchen gadget reviews.

All Night Knits

Sleep All Day. Knit All Night.

The Blog of Knitted Fog

art, life and stuff

knitnrun4sanity

Running, knitting, crocheting and blogging along.

Keep Me In Stitchez: The Blog

Following my passion, one stitch at a time

Knitting, reading, photography, and maybe more

Explorations, procrastinations, imaginations...

