Book progress report

This was a busy week for me, I picked up a lot of extra time at work so I didn’t have much time to work on the book until today. But boy did I get things done!

First, the wording on the last page is done! This is the second of the pages I did with free-hand machine stitching.

IMG_3164

This page has the same puckering problem as the first, although I accidentally discovered that 4 layers of the paper does decrease the puckering noticeably. That’s a lot of paper, but it’s some pretty thin paper so it didn’t seem to trouble the machine at all and it wasn’t any harder to remove after the sewing was done.

Next I did the outlines on the satin stitch pages, yay for free-hand machine stitching again, which should make those go much faster. I still haven’t even finished the first of those pages, and no pictures of the partially done one, but I think I can get them done pretty quickly with some solid sewing time. If I can’t get the pages done I do have the contingency plan of printing the words out on fabric and sewing that the to pages, not as fancy but faster and a do-able alternative since I’m low on time.

And finally I started on the illustrations for the pages! The first three pages of the book are now completely finished! And the fourth one is almost done.

I’m pretty happy with how the needles turned out, and very pleased with the “thread”, which is actually yarn that I’ve couched on. I’ve never really done any couching, but the learning curve has been pretty steep, and I think I’m getting better at it. The couching is kind of slow going, but I like the results so much I don’t mind. I have decided that I need to work at a table to do the couching, rather than in front of the TV like I was doing today. It works alright to basically work in my lap but I think it would be easier and faster on a table. So much for laziness in front of the TV, I’ll just have to stick to working on the satin stitch letters when I watch TV. The fourth page is also going to have a smaller needle and thread on it, next to the piece of fabric. I’ve been waffling back and forth between just loving the piece of cloth ripply on the fourth page and thinking it looks stupid. One of the later pages is going to have what is supposed to look like a pattern drawn on paper which I will be doing on white cotton so I wanted to make the piece of cloth illustration look noticeably different by having it look ripply. Now that I think of it I could have just made it look like a folded piece of cloth, but I like the implied motion of the ripple. I’ll have to see how it looks with the rest of the illustration on the page.

These ones were the simplest illustrations, but even the more complex ones are rather small, so they should be pretty quick to put together. The show that the piece is for goes up this Sunday, so it all better be pretty quick to finish! Luckily the most complex of the illustrations are just going to be small simple embroidered flowers, and I should be able to do those pretty easily in an hour or so. And I think I just need two of those, actually, if I work it right I might only need one, we’ll have to see how that goes. It is so exciting to see, and feel!, the pile of the finished pages. It’s starting to look like a book, and like an actual piece of art too! I don’t generally think that highly of my own pieces, I’ve seen too many really good pieces by my mom and her friends and mine don’t even compare, but I’m already pretty proud of this one, and it’s only getting better.

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

Glitchy Artist

Screenshots of the Universe

depression comix

a comic struggling to understand mental illness

The Geeky Hooker

Not THAT kind of hooker. The kind armed with a crochet hook.

carriescarr.com

technology explorer

MindMedicine Blog

Professional Golfer & Mind Coach in Life & Professional Sport...

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

allmostrelevant

Want to see what an Instagram with no pictures looks like? @allmostrelevant

Kitchen Overlord

Your home for geeky recipes, edible art, and nerdy kitchen gadget reviews.

All Night Knits

Sleep All Day. Knit All Night.

The Blog of Knitted Fog

art, life and stuff

knitnrun4sanity

Running, knitting, crocheting and blogging along.

Keep Me In Stitchez: The Blog

Following my passion, one stitch at a time

Knitting, reading, photography, and maybe more

Explorations, procrastinations, imaginations...

