Book Illustrations

The book is almost finished! Which is good because theoretically the show it’s for goes up tomorrow :-/. I say theoretically because we’re sposed to be getting a winter storm starting around 4 am tonight and continuing all day tomorrow, so if there’s a storm the library will probably close and then we won’t hang the show until Monday. I wouldn’t mind that, I’m pretty sure I can get the book presentable by tomorrow but if I had the extra day I could get it really polished and to the point I want it at for display. I realized today that this is the biggest fiber project I have ever made. Not sure if that says more about the size of the project or my previous work, but there it is.

 

On to the progress. I got a LOT of work done today, and a bit over the last week. I’ve now finished all the illustrations in the book and have sewn the first two pages together! First, the one set of pages I haven’t posted about at all, the set that was supposed to have satin stitch lettering. I realized this week that there was no way I was going to get them finished with satin stitch so I pulled out what I had done on those pages and printed the words on fabric. It actually turned out looking rather neat.

The last few illustrations took the most time because there was a lot of couching and one is an actual embroidered piece to itself, but I’m quite happy with how all of them turned out.

The illustrations took most of my time today, but I did manage to get the first two pages sewn together. Assembling the book is something I’m very much improvising, so I’m quite pleased at how the first two pages sewn together turned out. But, by the time I was done with those it was 11 o’clock so I figured I better wait till tomorrow or I’m going to start really messing up.

And now time for bed so I can get up early (well early for me) and finish the book! Hopefully before it needs to go in the show…

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

Glitchy Artist

Screenshots of the Universe

depression comix

a comic struggling to understand mental illness

The Geeky Hooker

Not THAT kind of hooker. The kind armed with a crochet hook.

carriescarr.com

technology explorer

MindMedicine Blog

Professional Golfer & Mind Coach in Life & Professional Sport...

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

allmostrelevant

Want to see what an Instagram with no pictures looks like? @allmostrelevant

Kitchen Overlord

Your home for geeky recipes, edible art, and nerdy kitchen gadget reviews.

All Night Knits

Sleep All Day. Knit All Night.

The Blog of Knitted Fog

art, life and stuff

knitnrun4sanity

Running, knitting, crocheting and blogging along.

Keep Me In Stitchez: The Blog

Following my passion, one stitch at a time

Knitting, reading, photography, and maybe more

Explorations, procrastinations, imaginations...

WOMBAT QUILTS

An Aussie's adventures in quilting

