Finished Book!

Well mostly. There are a few things I want to clean-up on it, but it’s finished enough that it’s on display in the show, so those things will have to wait. All of the pages are together now and the covers are on, and it shouldn’t fall apart. So, pictures first.

The pictures aren’t the best cause I was taking them quickly, so I could get out the door. First I did the pages that are back to back, just the basic right sides together, sew three sides and flip back to right sides out. Those went pretty easy, the most difficult part was making sure to line the pages up correctly. All the pages were different sizes to begin with and the words and illustrations took up different amounts of space so it was a little tricky but I got a system worked out. Once those were all sewn together I used the un-sewn sides of all the pages to connect the sets. Basically I sewed the fourth side of the facing pages together. It worked quite nicely, but darn was it tricky to sew it on the machine once I started getting a pretty big stack of pages. This created a stack of connection points at one edge of the book that would basically be where the spine of the book is. The connections still seemed kind of flimsy so I went back and added some stitching along the top and bottom edges of the stack of connection points, just to secure everything. That helped quite a bit but I think I want to figure out a way to stabilize that area even more once I get the book back.

After I got all the pages together I needed to finish up the cover. I knew I was going to sew the two halves of the cover together by hand but I hadn’t realized that I would want to connect the two sides a little bit on the top and bottom as well. It didn’t occur to me that you would be able to see the ragged ends of the pages and all the stitching and thread tales to keep them together, and man was that ugly. So I basically just extended the seam between the front and back covers to cover a bit of the top and bottom edge. It’s not the most elegant solution, but it works.

All in all it turned out well. And I got it done in time for the show which we did hang today, the winter storm held off just long enough for us to get it put up and scurry home. Everybody loves my book, and the whole show looks just great. There are so many neat books, and now I can appreciate the construction of the books more as well. Here are a few pictures of the show, I may have more later. And there are a few more pieces that may get put up later, but the artist lives out of town and didn’t want to brave the weather, I don’t blame her.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Debbie Richman on April 14, 2013 at 7:04 pm

    Nice, Anna!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

Glitchy Artist

Screenshots of the Universe

depression comix

a comic struggling to understand mental illness

The Geeky Hooker

Not THAT kind of hooker. The kind armed with a crochet hook.

carriescarr.com

technology explorer

MindMedicine Blog

Professional Golfer & Mind Coach in Life & Professional Sport...

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

allmostrelevant

Want to see what an Instagram with no pictures looks like? @allmostrelevant

Kitchen Overlord

Your home for geeky recipes, edible art, and nerdy kitchen gadget reviews.

All Night Knits

Sleep All Day. Knit All Night.

The Blog of Knitted Fog

art, life and stuff

knitnrun4sanity

Running, knitting, crocheting and blogging along.

Keep Me In Stitchez: The Blog

Following my passion, one stitch at a time

Knitting, reading, photography, and maybe more

Explorations, procrastinations, imaginations...

