KaCBW Day 6: A Tool to Covet


Before we get to today’s challenge, I wanna say I’m not so sure about yesterday’s post format. It worked this time, but I don’t think I’ll do it again. Guess I like to see my own writing too much. Let me know what you thought of it.

 

Today’s post is about my favorite and least favorite crafting tools. It is really hard to decide on a favorite crafting tool, cause really it depends on which craft I’m doing. I decided to go with my favorite for knitting, my Addi Turbo circular needle. It was completely chance that I even got the needle, I needed a circular needle of a certain size and the yarn store I was at had a very limited selection, so I went with the Addi Turbo. I hate trying to hunt up the right tools, especially knitting needles, when I’m ready to start a project, it’s always so frustrating. I’m actually surprised I like the Addi Turbo, it’s a metal circular needle, and I generally don’t like metal needles because they’re too slippery for me, and cold, and so clicky, every stitch it’s *click clack click click”, it annoys me. But I don’t know what they do to these needles but they’re not too slippery, in fact it seems like when I want the stitches to slide easily they slide nice, but when I want them to stay in place they stick just right. I really don’t know how they do that. And the needles are so smooth and comfortable in my hands, they never feel cold, and the texture is so nice and smooth that even the little clicks don’t bother me. When I first started using the needle I believe I said something to the BF along the lines of it being like a hand-gasm. Yeah, I’m a nerd like that. So I’m a bit in love with that needle, I need to get more, but I think they only come in circular and I don’t really like to work on circulars, even for round projects, I’d rather use straights or double-points. So if anyone knows if they make Addi Turbos in straight needles and where I can get them… I would love you forever if you told me!

As for my least favorite crafting tool, it’s definitely a cable needle. I almost went with a stitch holder because you can just use scrap yarn to hold the stitches, but really stitch holders are much more convenient. A cable needle though, totally pointless. I know I have two somewhere, but I bought them, took them out of the package and maybe used them once before they disappeared. And since then I’ve just used one of the many double-point needles I have laying around. Or I’ll use a stitch holder. I do see a small advantage to the curved cable needle, but I lost that one too and it’s not enough of an advantage for me to buy a new one.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Have you tried their web site? They definitely do double pointed but not sure in what msterial. I am with you with the cables. Always used dpns!

    Reply

    • I looked at their website and they have straight turbos! I didn’t check for double points cause I was too excited about the straight, but still yay! Thanks for the suggestion, somehow it never occurred to me.

      Reply

  2. Posted by caityrosey on April 27, 2013 at 7:33 am

    I can perhaps foresee getting more use out of a cable needle if I’m working on more fiddley or complicated cables. There must be a reason it exists, poor thing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

Glitchy Artist

Screenshots of the Universe

depression comix

a comic struggling to understand mental illness

The Geeky Hooker

Not THAT kind of hooker. The kind armed with a crochet hook.

carriescarr.com

technology explorer

MindMedicine Blog

Professional Golfer & Mind Coach in Life & Professional Sport...

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

allmostrelevant

Want to see what an Instagram with no pictures looks like? @allmostrelevant

Kitchen Overlord

Your home for geeky recipes, edible art, and nerdy kitchen gadget reviews.

All Night Knits

Sleep All Day. Knit All Night.

The Blog of Knitted Fog

art, life and stuff

knitnrun4sanity

Running, knitting, crocheting and blogging along.

Keep Me In Stitchez: The Blog

Following my passion, one stitch at a time

Knitting, reading, photography, and maybe more

Explorations, procrastinations, imaginations...

