I think I may have a problem…

Hello, my name is Anna and I’m a yarn-aholic.

I went a bit crazy at the yarn store this week, but I have an excuse! It was a sale! So Thursday I went to check things out and found a yarn called Poems. Of course I had to get that, I write poetry! Then I saw this wonderfully soft merino/llama/bamboo yarn that was only like 4 dollars and totally gave in. And I almost made it through the sale with less than $30 in yarn… until I saw the Dreambird shawl they had on a mannequin. I asked about it and the woman told me it was for a knit-along that they’re doing and she showed me the yarn it was made with. I didn’t have much time then, so I left without getting more yarn, but the more I thought about it, the more I wanted to do the knit-along.

So, I went back today to sign up for the knit-along and get the yarn for it, and of course the sale was still going on. But I was smart about the yarn for the knit-along. The yarn that the teacher made the sample with was $25-30 a ball and I would need two balls, and there was no way I could spend that on yarn on a whim. So I asked the woman at the shop to suggest other options and we found one that was on sale and a seriously good deal. I got 5 balls of the other stuff, enough for the shawl, for less than one ball of the other stuff. If you can’t tell, I’m a bit proud of myself. Anyway, the knit-along starts this Tuesday so I’ll post about it soon.

Now, back to the yarn Poems. I was trying to think of a pattern it would work with, and I decided I’m going to try to create my own pattern. I was thinking some sort of loosely knit shawl, or wide scarf, with a texture to make it look like writing. Then, when I showed the yarn to my dad, he asked if I was gonna write a poem with it, which for some reason reminded me of Madame Defarge in A Tale of Two Cities, and how she kept a record of people to be killed by knitting in a code. And then it occurred to me, I could try knitting in Morse code! So I’m going to be doing some experimenting to see what I can come up with for a somewhat loose-knit shawl with a stitch pattern that is Morse code. The biggest challenge there, I think, will be to get that stitch pattern to be visually pleasing and not just look like a random mess. I will, of course, update when I’ve got some work done on that, and any suggestions you have would be great.

So I may have a yarn problem, but I should be good for a while now. Hopefully. I was going to say I have no reason to go back to the yarn store for a while, but I’ve gotta go back for the knit-along, so hopefully I’ll be too absorbed in knitting to notice any more yarns!

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

Glitchy Artist

Screenshots of the Universe

depression comix

a comic struggling to understand mental illness

The Geeky Hooker

Not THAT kind of hooker. The kind armed with a crochet hook.

carriescarr.com

technology explorer

MindMedicine Blog

Professional Golfer & Mind Coach in Life & Professional Sport...

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

allmostrelevant

Want to see what an Instagram with no pictures looks like? @allmostrelevant

Kitchen Overlord

Your home for geeky recipes, edible art, and nerdy kitchen gadget reviews.

All Night Knits

Sleep All Day. Knit All Night.

The Blog of Knitted Fog

art, life and stuff

knitnrun4sanity

Running, knitting, crocheting and blogging along.

Keep Me In Stitchez: The Blog

Following my passion, one stitch at a time

Knitting, reading, photography, and maybe more

Explorations, procrastinations, imaginations...

