Albuquerque Fiber Arts Fiesta

Well it’s taken me a bit longer than I intended to get things in order and start telling you about the Fiber Arts Fiesta, but I have an excuse! Not only did I have to get back into the swing of normal life, work has just been crazy all week. Apparently everyone decided over Memorial Weekend that they need to go to the library more, so we have been making new library cards for people constantly and barely keeping up with the shelving. But enough of my excuses, and on to the part you really want to read.

The Albuquerque Fiber Arts Fiesta is a fiber festival that happens every other year in, where else, Albuquerque (that is ridiculously hard to type!), New Mexico. My mom went a few years ago and really liked it so this year she took me with her and went back. And it was so much fun! It’s in a great big building on the fair grounds which is chock-full of fiber stuff, including exhibits of all kinds of techniques (I’ll be posting about each exhibit in it’s own separate post cause there was so much in each), a great education area, and, of course, vendors of all kinds. Since there’s so much to cover I’m going to split it across several posts and I think I’ll start myself off slowly by telling you about the education section and the vendors.

The education section was just wonderful. It was as big as some of the exhibits and had lots of good examples of techniques with signs about the techniques. I only saw one place you could try a technique, which was weaving, but that would be the only thing I think they were missing. There was a great little table with all kinds of tools, including a group of “watchamacallits” which just amused me, and a wonderful set of boards about fiber and fiber arts in general. I found out that the boards actually travel to schools around the state to introduce kids to Fiber Arts, which I think is just a great idea. The whole education area really inspired me to try and improve the general educational stuff we have at the Fiber Arts Festival here, and gave me some great ideas of how to do just that. The pictures are in a slideshow format, unusual for me, so be sure you flip through and see all of them.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

*Public Service Announcement* The next chunk is all about the vendors at the Fiesta and I have included links to any that I have web pages, or Etsy pages, for. I have not been compensated for the advertisements, nor was I asked by any to do this, I just like to promote small businesses and like to share good crafting resources I find with people who might be interested. Please feel no obligation to look at the web pages, unless you think they would be interesting, in which case you should look, because you know you want to ;-). *End Announcement*

The vendors were also quite good (please bear with me if I am saying everything is wonderful or awesome, I’ve been known to do that), and there was a nice variety; it wasn’t “all wool and yarn” as my mother often complains about. There were, of course, several good yarn vendors and a few wool and roving vendors, although I didn’t spend as much time there as I had expected. I did get some beautiful roving at a place called Chamomile Connection, and one new kind of yarn, but that was it. The yarn is actually another self-ruffling yarn that I haven’t seen before, which I got at a lovely local yarn store called Village Wools. It’s basically a strip of fabric with evenly spaced holes across the top (pictures in a moment), and the label is totally in Spanish! Luckily the directions inside the label also have pictures, cause I don’t know any Spanish. The other vendor I noticed who had exclusively roving was this interesting non-profit fiber mill. I had never heard of a non-profit fiber mill before, but they explained that their mission is to train and employ impoverished locals, which I thought was pretty cool. I didn’t get any roving from them, cause they mostly had natural colored wools and I just don’t work with that much, but I found the idea incredibly interesting, and they had great prices.

Beyond the yarn and roving vendors, there were several vendors selling various antique and Eastern fabrics and textiles, including one selling kimono fabric (my mom loved that booth and even got a kimono-style jacket). There were a few button and bead places, including a woman making some very interesting button and vaguely steam-punk jewelry (I almost bought a watch from her made of tiny Mahjong tiles, and I may still buy it from her Etsy shop) and a woman who makes raku and metal beads (that’s raku beads and metal beads, not the two combined into one bead. That could be cool though). And then there was this really cool booth that was selling fabric and doll patterns, and had all kinds of dolls all over the booth. I just loved that one because of all the great, bright colors and shiny things and most of the dolls were actually really neat, rather than creepy like most dolls seem to be. Sadly, they didn’t allow pictures of their booth, but it’s their work and their booth, so that’s how it goes. I did get a couple patterns and a bit of fabric from them though, so I have pictures of those! And there was one booth that had all kinds of braiding stuff, but mostly Kumihimo (a Japanese braiding technique), where I got a kit to try a flat kumihimo braid, which I haven’t done before.

There were a couple little booths where I spent a lot more time chatting with the vendors than looking at their stuff, and discovered both of them were originally from up here! One was from Wisconsin and the other was from Devil’s Lake, ND, what a coincidence. The woman from Devil’s Lake was selling this really neat wire jewelry. Now, I know that making wire jewelry is quite popular lately and doesn’t seem like anything special, but what was special was the techniques she was using. She had a few pieces she had crocheted but most of the jewelry was made using Kumihimo, and she had a few pieces made using a technique called netting, and some made on a floor loom! That was the first time I had seen any of those techniques done in wire and boy did they look cool. The woman from Wisconsin had lampwork beads, and I may have convinced her to try making penguin shaped lampwork beads, but mostly we talked about needle felting and spinning because she has done a little of both and wants to do more. Sadly, neither of them has a website because I would love to be able to promote their stuff, oh well.

So, that was the educational and shopping portion of my time at the Albuquerque Fiber Arts Fiesta, and boy was it fun! It also resulted in a much longer post than I expected, but that’s okay. Now I have to decide which exhibit I will post about first, maybe the knitting one, although the rug-hooking was quite neat, and there were some amazing quilts. Such difficult decisions!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Bonnie Ouellette on May 31, 2013 at 12:25 pm

    What fabulous coverage. Do you know of anywhere the winners are listed? Bonnie

    Reply

    • I don’t know where you would find a list of the winners. It looks like the Fiber Arts Fiesta website has a list of winners from 2011 so I would guess that they will eventually have a list of the 2013 winners up, but they’re probably recuperating and regrouping from the Fiesta right now. So it may be a while until they have a list up.

      Reply

  2. […] The braiding is done by taking the third string to the right of the empty slot and moving it to the empty slot. And then repeating that over and over and over and over and over… It gets kind of repetitive when I’m making a lot of the kits. This makes a pretty small braid, great for using as a decorative cord or a drawstring, but you can make much bigger and much more complex braids using the kumihimo technique. There are all different kinds of patterns, including flat braids like the one in the picture of the kit I got at the Fiber Arts Fiesta. […]

    Reply

  3. […] No, not the Batman villain, this is just a penguin. I shouldn’t say just a penguin, he’s an adorable penguin. A few months ago we took a road trip to Wyoming for my cousin’s wedding, and on the way we stopped at a great fabric store in Billings, MT. There’s more about the store, and the trip, in this post here, but the important part to know is that I got a pattern for a penguin family. Theoretically it’s to give me some practice making stuffed things before I try to make the dragon pattern that I got at the Albuquerque Fiber Arts Fiesta (there are a lot of posts on that one, but the dragon is in this post). […]

    Reply

  4. […] festival was interesting and enjoyable. I had expected it to be huge like the Fiber Fiesta, but it was much smaller and closer to the size of the Fiber Arts Festival at home. That was okay, […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

Glitchy Artist

Screenshots of the Universe

depression comix

a comic struggling to understand mental illness

The Geeky Hooker

Not THAT kind of hooker. The kind armed with a crochet hook.

carriescarr.com

technology explorer

MindMedicine Blog

Professional Golfer & Mind Coach in Life & Professional Sport...

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

allmostrelevant

Want to see what an Instagram with no pictures looks like? @allmostrelevant

Kitchen Overlord

Your home for geeky recipes, edible art, and nerdy kitchen gadget reviews.

All Night Knits

Sleep All Day. Knit All Night.

The Blog of Knitted Fog

art, life and stuff

knitnrun4sanity

Running, knitting, crocheting and blogging along.

Keep Me In Stitchez: The Blog

Following my passion, one stitch at a time

Knitting, reading, photography, and maybe more

Explorations, procrastinations, imaginations...

WOMBAT QUILTS

An Aussie's adventures in quilting

