Postcard exchange-March

The new project that the Designing Quilters group is working on is an exchange of what we’re calling fiber postcards. Everyone who was interested in taking part in the exchange chose a theme that we wanted postcards made for us on, for example my theme is fractals, my mom’s theme is stitch, etc. Then we went around and everyone who is participating in the exchange got to choose six themes to make postcards for. We have to have one postcard done every other month, although several people have gotten way ahead, and we exchange the ones people have finished at those meetings (theoretically each person only brings one postcard to each exchange to give away, but those who have been working ahead often bring more). The postcards all have to be 5″x7″ and when we chose themes we had the option to choose if we wanted all the cards in the same orientation or not, although only two people requested a specific orientation. Other than that, there weren’t really any restrictions set, and it has been really fun seeing all the variations! I will split the postcards up based on each exchange, and since the first exchange was in March, I’ll post about those first.

The first theme that I made a postcard for was Calm. It took me a while to come up with a way to represent calm, since the things that make me feel calm (rock music, storms, the ocean, etc) tend not to appear calm on the surface, and things that look calm tend to make me fidgety. I had recently had an idea for a piece based on something my mom has told me several times in the past, which is that I am like a rock, calm and steady, which makes me laugh because that is not at all how I feel inside. So I had been thinking about doing something, possibly an embroidery piece, basically showing the contrast between how I feel inside and how I look outside. This made me think of how, especially in very chaotic situations, I have noticed that calm can sort of spread out from one person or point. So I decided to do an embroidered postcard where the background is full of all kinds of overlapping designs and looks incredibly chaotic but there is a ripple of calm spreading out from the center. The recipient of my postcard said she sees it as everything being sucked into the calm, which works just as well for me! Here are process pictures.

The other postcards were all really awesome. I tried to get good pictures of all of them, but we set them out on a table as we got there so there was a lot of coming and going as people set down new ones and picked up ones that were already there to look at them, so hopefully you can see them all.

That’s everything from the March exchange. We just exchanged more in May, so I will post about those, and some that were brought to the April meeting, tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

Glitchy Artist

Screenshots of the Universe

depression comix

a comic struggling to understand mental illness

The Geeky Hooker

Not THAT kind of hooker. The kind armed with a crochet hook.

carriescarr.com

technology explorer

MindMedicine Blog

Professional Golfer & Mind Coach in Life & Professional Sport...

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

allmostrelevant

Want to see what an Instagram with no pictures looks like? @allmostrelevant

Kitchen Overlord

Your home for geeky recipes, edible art, and nerdy kitchen gadget reviews.

All Night Knits

Sleep All Day. Knit All Night.

The Blog of Knitted Fog

art, life and stuff

knitnrun4sanity

Running, knitting, crocheting and blogging along.

Keep Me In Stitchez: The Blog

Following my passion, one stitch at a time

Knitting, reading, photography, and maybe more

Explorations, procrastinations, imaginations...

