Postcard exchange-May

For this exchange I made a postcard on the circus theme. I had trouble coming up with an idea for this one, because I didn’t want to do your basic big top tent or clown or anything like that, and I really liked the Ring of Fire piece that had been given in March for the circus theme. I considered an elephant of some sort, but wasn’t real inspired by that idea, so I tried to think of the more unusual parts of circuses and thought of the sideshow. My first though with a sideshow is the bearded lady or the strong man, but then I thought of the song Lydia the Tattooed Lady (which is all my mom’s fault because she likes to start singing it at me because of my tattoo), and that was an idea I could get behind. So I was thinking I would do a piece with some sort of tattoo design across it, maybe something geometric/tribal looking, and I took to the internet to find ideas. I didn’t find any geometric designs I liked but I did find some pictures of actual tattooed ladies and got some ideas from them. Then I was trying to decide what to use as the background to look like skin, and I realized that I have some leather I could work and leather actually is skin. After a moment to get over the slight yuck factor from that thought (it doesn’t seem gross until you really think about it, does it?), I got excited and started drawing. So, here are pictures of the whole process!

The postcards exchanged were again really awesome, and mine was well-received. A couple were exchanged at the April meeting, because the makers couldn’t wait to give them away :-), so I’ll include those in with the rest from May.

Calm was a very popular theme this time, and I can’t wait to see what people make next! At this point, I don’t have a plan for my next post, but I have a few projects in the works, so I’ll have to post about those as they get worked on. Worst case scenario, I’ll post the next exchange in July!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by gjeneve on May 13, 2015 at 2:34 pm

    Great postcards and pics. Also greatpost.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

Glitchy Artist

Screenshots of the Universe

depression comix

a comic struggling to understand mental illness

The Geeky Hooker

Not THAT kind of hooker. The kind armed with a crochet hook.

carriescarr.com

technology explorer

MindMedicine Blog

Professional Golfer & Mind Coach in Life & Professional Sport...

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

allmostrelevant

Want to see what an Instagram with no pictures looks like? @allmostrelevant

Kitchen Overlord

Your home for geeky recipes, edible art, and nerdy kitchen gadget reviews.

All Night Knits

Sleep All Day. Knit All Night.

The Blog of Knitted Fog

art, life and stuff

knitnrun4sanity

Running, knitting, crocheting and blogging along.

Keep Me In Stitchez: The Blog

Following my passion, one stitch at a time

Knitting, reading, photography, and maybe more

Explorations, procrastinations, imaginations...

WOMBAT QUILTS

An Aussie's adventures in quilting

