Postcard Catch-up

My mom kept bothering me to write an update here, and I wasn’t too worried cause I thought I was only one postcard exchange behind, but now I discover I’m two behind and never posted anything about the Taos Wool festival! So I’m starting with the last two months of postcard exchanges.

Because of school I got a bit behind and didn’t have a postcard finished for November, but I did get one finished for January. The theme for this one was Big Town on the Prairie aka Fargo. One of my favorite things about living in such a flat part of the prairie (sounds redundant doesn’t it? But the Red River Valley is even flatter than the rest of the prairie) is the fact that you can basically see forever. Theoretically on a clear day the only limit to how far you can see is the limit of your eyes ability to perceive or the curve of the earth. Pretty cool, huh? Several people had already done the skyline of Fargo as seen from the distance, so I decided to go a different direction and do the skyline at night. Because the area is so flat you can see the lights of any town, but especially one as big as Fargo, for 50 or more miles in any direction.

Debbie, the woman the postcard was for, really liked the ATCs I made with the lightning, but didn’t get one in the exchange. I had told her that I would make one for her, but I never got to it :-(, so I figured this was the perfect opportunity to improve on the promise. So I made a pretty plain looking postcard, which lights up when you press down in the right spot! The skyline in the front is more opaque than the background, so it gets backlit while the background gets washed out, just like with city skylines at night.

Thankfully she loved it! The lights are three LEDs connected to a watch battery, similar to the construction of the lightning ATCs. Unfortunately I couldn’t get them situated right so that it is really easy to press down and get all three to light up, you tend to get just two of them, but Debbie doesn’t mind and was actually quite happy to be able to turn just one on at a time if she wants, so that turned out well!

Now, the other postcards! There are a lot here because it’s two months worth of exchanges, but there are still at least three cards missing. My mom is still short one, as am I, and I still have one that I need to finish. But I should be done soon! (Hopefully :-/)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My mom says that Mary Ann and I are each others fan clubs, which I have no problem with at all. Everybody needs a fan club. I just love her sense of humor, it works for me, and she’s so good at the deadpan joke delivery that it’s even better! 😀

Next up: the Taos Wool Festival

Leave a Reply

Two Busy Brunettes

two brunette sisters busy with crafting, cooking, teaching, reading and living

Glitchy Artist

Screenshots of the Universe

depression comix

a comic struggling to understand mental illness

The Geeky Hooker

Not THAT kind of hooker. The kind armed with a crochet hook.

carriescarr.com

technology explorer

MindMedicine Blog

Professional Golfer & Mind Coach in Life & Professional Sport...

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

allmostrelevant

Want to see what an Instagram with no pictures looks like? @allmostrelevant

Kitchen Overlord

Your home for geeky recipes, edible art, and nerdy kitchen gadget reviews.

All Night Knits

Sleep All Day. Knit All Night.

The Blog of Knitted Fog

art, life and stuff

knitnrun4sanity

Running, knitting, crocheting and blogging along.

Keep Me In Stitchez: The Blog

Following my passion, one stitch at a time

Knitting, reading, photography, and maybe more

Explorations, procrastinations, imaginations...

WOMBAT QUILTS

An Aussie's adventures in quilting

